A Guy From India

hyderabad05A guy named Fred (not his real name) from India remotely helped me get my Hewlett-Packard computer fixed earlier this week.  I gave him the controls to my computer and we had quite an interesting conversation as he fiddled with my kitchen desktop from thousands of miles away.  I am a question-asker when something is intriguing to me as any Jokaydian will attest and so will Fred now.  I always wonder why jobs are getting shipped across seas and my conversation helped me understand why.  Fred is a 22-year old college graduate who lives in a town of 1400 thousand people (his number) called Hyderabad.   He has his degree in Mechanical Engineering and is planning on attending graduate school as soon as he can afford it.  I asked him several questions and as I recollect our conversation went something like the following:

Me:  So, what does a guy in India make for fixing my computer?

Fred:  I make about 10,000 rupees a month…

Me:  Wow…not bad…how much is that in US dollars…

Fred:  Right around $200…

Me:  Oh my God, Fred…If you had a job as a Mechanical Engineer in Montana…You would be making that much in a half a day…

Fred:  You are too kind…

Fred seemed like an extremely kind and responsible young man…the kind of guy you would want to hire.  He works 9 and a half hours a day, 5 days a week and must still live at home with his parents to afford graduate school.  If I could get him to work for me for $200 a month, I would not hesitate…Even if I knew that he would only stay on for a week.

194602-R1-18-18AI asked him what school was like for him when he was younger and he shared that there is a tremendous amount of respect for both education and teachers in his culture and also…an extremely low divorce rate.  I wonder if a stronger family structure and a deep cultural respect for education and teachers might have something to do with a student’s success in the classroom.

We were on the phone with each other for a little over two hours so I was able to ask a lot of questions.  I also had my son Edin…play his piano version of the Beatles song – Yellow submarine for Fred.  Although Fred knew who the Beatles were, He had never heard the song before.  He told me that he prefers Eminem.

dad and boysOn a personal note, my last blog post was my 50th and marked the one-year anniversary of my blog.  I know this because I wrote my first blog post on the way home from the 2008 Race for the Cure of Breast Cancer, and last weekend, family and I went to Helena for the 2009 Race for the Cure.  I like taking my family to this race…It is by far one of my favorites as it gives my children an opportunity to remember their Gramma…and me, an opportunity to remember my mother.  And this year, I was able to take my Father as well…the person who was probably impacted the most by my Mother’s battle with the disease…besides my Mother anyway…

One Response to “A Guy From India”

  1. Happy Birthday – the big five oh!

Leave a Reply

