Twenty First Century Friendship

I have always been kind of a loner, preferring activities that isolated me from others.  Second Life, twitter, this blog, and other on-line social environments seem to have changed that for me over the past year in more ways than I would have ever imagined or dreamed.  I don’t know if it is the filter provided by my computer and my new found friends/teachers that makes it easier for me to share with others and really be myself or if it is something else about interacting on-line…but I truly believe that some of the friends/teachers I unconference-arthave made over the past year…on-line…are some of the best friends/teachers I have ever had.  I know as much or more about many of them than I do about people I have known face to face for years and I believe (might be foolin myself) some of them feel the same way about me.  This last statement may be more of a commentary on my lack of ability to communicate with people in “real life”…but my ability to communicate with others in “real life” has actually improved a tremendous amount as a result of my association with my new found non-f2f friends.  So if my “twenty-first century” friendships are not as mutual as I would like, it really doesn’t matter…I am a far better person as a result of each and everyone of those friendships

On a personal note, my family and I are flying to Australia in a couple of days where I will get to meet some of my new friends face to face, even one from Tasmania.  I am going to record my trip on a new application I found called MapVivo.  If  you want to see my journey…click MY JOURNEY.  Adam made a slide show about part of our trip…see it below.  I am soooo excited to meet my new friends and go on a new adventure…I can barely contain myself:)  Oh yeah, big thanks to Dean and Jo for helping me with another grant…gonna get it this year…
Vodpod videos no longer available.
more about “Adam S Project”, posted with vodpod

2 Responses to “Twenty First Century Friendship”

  1. Thunder Says:

    That is awesome, Jeff! Have a wonderful time!

  2. We’re really looking forward to meeting our new-found virtual friend, F2F. These global friendships are awesome for sure!!

Leave a Reply

