Day 6 – Finally getta meet Dean and his Family

Henny Zimer

Henny Zimer

It was just over a year ago that Slammed Aabye (Dean Groom) friended Henny Zimer (me) immediately upon their introduction by Jokay Wollongong on the great island of Jokaydia.  I believe our relationship has come full circle in what seems to have been a very short year.  In that year, we have had some of the most terrific conversations in a variety of places…including skype, twitter, second life, our blogs, gtalk, and even playing world of warcraft.  Our conversations have included everything you could imagine two teachers/fathers/geeks/gamers could talk about who are 1000s of miles from one another.

Sue and Joanie

Sue and Joanie

The value I have for our friendship has greatly increased over the past couple of days as places we have had terrific conversation now include Lake Mckenzie, Eli Creeksome shipwreck I cannot remember the name of, and Kingfisher Bay Resort.  I have also had the privilege of meeting Dean’s wonderful family and watch our kids build sand castles, chase fish, and collect shells with each other.  Our wives also had the opportunity to compare notes about a variety of character defects Dean and I seem to share.

deans pocket stuff

dean's pocket stuff

I was not exactly sure what I would find when I met Dean.  Because the amount of knowledge he possessed was so great, in my own mind, I built him into something he is not.  I thought he would be some kind of a guru or something.  Thank God that is not the case.  He is just a man, like me, working his hardest to be a good father, husband, friend and teacher.  I am happy for technology…more than anything…because it has allowed me to meet Dean and his family.

On a personal note, I celebrated my eighteenth wedding anniversary on this day as well…I am the luckiest man in the world to be married to my wife, Joanie…She is my best friend.

2 Responses to “Day 6 – Finally getta meet Dean and his Family”

  1. and the whole day I thought you we’re joking about the wedding anniversary. Thanks for a great week, gurus are over rated. Have a safe trip home. See you in Montana real soon – or DC at least. If I can get a free bus.

  2. What a sexy pair of ladies on your post!
    I had the BEST time with you guys and was so sad to have to say good bye. You and your family (especially Joanie) have a special place in the hearts and minds of the Groom clan and we can’t wait to see you again. I hope your flight home wasn’t too terrible and that Joanie survives her first days back at work.
    Ashton went around pre school on Monday asking everyone to ‘pull his finger’ and we all practiced our Montana accents this afternoon. Anyone for hot dogs at Luna Park (lol)
    Love Sue

Leave a Reply

