Days 7, 8, 9 – The Long Drive Down the Coast

Darren's Big rig

After Fraser Island we began our long journey down the eastern coast of Australia.  We had several excursions along the way including a terrific trip inland into the green mountains via driver Darren Wallace, a retired executive turned entreprenuer who really knew how to spread jam and cream onto a scone.  If you ever go to Surfer’s Paradise, I would highly recommend his services as we were able to see parts of Australia that most don’t get to see.  He drove us through some switchbacks that made me really miss my bicycle and were reminexcent of roads of ridden on in Southern Montana.

My kids and friends Mariohn and Krista, Dancing on the top of the Green Mountains

My kids and friends Mariohn and Krista, Dancing on the top of the Green Mountains

Also along the way we held a koala, pet a kangaroo, looked for whales, visited a lighthouse, walked under a shark, and ate a very large hamburger.  The whole while, I was eager with anticipation to meet several of my new on-line Australian friends whom I have come to know as Jokaydians on the drive down the coast.  I was curious if we would hit it off as well as Dean’s family and mine did on Fraser Island.  I will write more about that in my next post…So if this stuff is interesting to you…Stay Tuned!

Leave a Reply

