Blogging on a bus 2

I recently purchased a wireless card from Verizon and let me tell you, it has totally increased my ability to learn on an anytime, anywhere basis.  I spent several hours on a bus to and from a workshop called Moodlebootcamp at a place called Pack Forest near Eatonville, WA.  It is the most productive traveling I have ever done.  On the way there, I wrote two blog posts, re-connected with numerous twitter and plurk friends, tweeked several Moodle Tasks I have been working on in a course I am creating, and I even played a little World of Warcraft.  On the way home I continued customizing Moodle tasks and started planning a workshop I hope to conduct in the fall.

Blue Acer

Blue Acer

I am writing this blog post an Acer Aspire One Netbook that costs less than $300.00usd.  I believe similar machines will soon cost under $200.00usd.  My wireless card is a little pricey, but I would gladly pay the amount I am paying to get productive things done at times when in the past, productivity was impossible.  I beginning to truly love my time writing in and posting to my blog anytime I want…even as I move across three states coming to and from a workshop.  Learning anytime, anywhere, anything will only become increasingly possible as we continue moving through this century.  The ability to learn in a mobile way will only become more efficient and inexpensive over the next few years for our students.

Are we ready to let our kids take advantage of these increasingly inexpensive technologies by allowing them to utilize mobile devices in and out of our classrooms for learning, sharing, and collaboration purposes?  According to many of the teachers I know, we are not.  Mobile devices and the communication they produce are nothing more than a distraction to the learning process is what many teachers I know profess.  Perhaps we should be teaching them HOW to utilize those devices as learning tools instead of forbidding students from having them anywhere near our classrooms.

3 Responses to “Blogging on a bus 2”

  1. I am with you 100%. ISTE has recently published a couple of books for the purpose of taking these ‘toys’ and ‘distractions’ and integrating them into curricula.

  2. My brother has an iPhone. No one I know loves me enough to buy me one (a statement I’ve been making for a long while, only half in jest–I say the same thing about a bass boat), but his use of it is steering me to the point at which I am just going to have to go out and buy one for myself. He took the two pics of our fishing catch yesterday that came out clear and beautiful (http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=674908&id=1202626373&ref=mf), remarkably clearer than any pic I can take with my Samsung cellphone, and he can put his freaking bass boat in the water from its dock’s hydraulic lift by touching a few screenbuttons on his iPhone while driving up the back road to his lake house. This fellow is not, I should hasten to add, a technogeek–he’s a scientist/engineer with his own consulting business who’s learned to make his technology work for him.

    I participated in the recent NECC Leadership Council’s thinktank workshop session at NECC09 in DC, where groups of thought leaders (not sure why I was there, but glad to be) pounded out some important elements of a new National Educational Technology Plan (https://edtechfuture.org/?page_id=49) to be submitted to the Administration this year. I can testify that the educators who count these tech tools as “distractions” are dead wrong. These tools are the vehicles that may actually break our stale, backward-looking, agrarian-based educational models out of the past and into the future–that is, if educational institutions are to survive as valid elements of our culture. If not, a radical restructuring of society based on realistically incorporating technological change may just do them away. Educational institutions, and more importantly the human beings that make them up, must realize that teaching and learning methods must reflect the changing culture that we live in. I’m just sayin’…

  3. […] From Mr. “A” to Mr. “Z” Changing the way we think about education « Blogging on a bus 2 […]

Leave a Reply

