Microblogging in the Classroom

Our district has been bringing in big-pay speakers like Kevin Honeycutt and Leslie Fischer to discuss the power of learning networks, mobile devices, and social media in our classrooms.  I think it is simply fantastic that people in my school district are beginning to see the power many of these tools might have in our classrooms.  For me, the ability to learn new things has increased exponentially as I have become increasingly proficient in utilizing many of these new tools in my own life, both personally and professionally.  I am hoping that others see how powerful these tools are and continue to push their use in the classroom.  I believe microblogging tools  can be powerful tools to share ideas and content with students.  I also believe they give us a new method for assessing student learning.  Sharing your thoughts in 140 characters  requires communication with precision and clarity.  I have talked with one teacher who has used a microblogging tool in his classroom, and he shared that the benefits far outweighed the detriments.  I really want to use many of the tools I have learned about, but it sometimes seems an uphill battle to use them as many people fear the negative repercussions of implementing these tools in a middle school classroom.  I can see why many teachers simply give up when it comes to using new tech.  It seems so much easier to simply maintain the status quo.  Anyone out there have any similar experiences?

9 Responses to “Microblogging in the Classroom”

  1. Sue Neese Says:

    I love the idea of microblogging in the classroom. I even set up a separate Twitter account for it. Sure wouldn’t want the kids’ accounts to be bombarded with the followers I’ve been getting, though. I’m going to have to find a secure site to use. There must be microblogging sites out there suitable for the middle school classroom.

  2. Story Mom #1 Says:

    Hi Mr “A”,
    Just thought I’d leave you a little note. Not too shabby with your pics and data. Interesting sites I have this year with Financial Literacy to use with students. They are even excited about leaving spot infomercials on financial literacy tips!

    • teacherman79 Says:

      Hey Marilyn,

      Thanks for commenting on my blog…You might be one of the first people from Great Falls to do so…You are teaching financial literacy eh? I hope you like that:)

      Jeff

  3. I really like the idea of micro-blogging in middle school. It takes time to learn how to write a long essay and even more to learn to pull it back to a short one. Micro-blogging get’s kids engaged with putting informal thoughts and ideas out of their brains and into view. It’s a great way to build confidence, and having Kevin around is great. I know I ripped off his swing tag idea a couple of years ago. He has a great understanding of people and social construction of knowledge. Warmest Regards Vorsprung.

  4. How do you get a school to open their eyes and start doing things like this? I go to my sons school web page, and click on teacher websites, and there are a total of ZERO. My son has a class now on website design and their vocab words were keyboard, hard drive, monitor, circuit board….I mean – COME ON – he’s in 9th grade! They are 3rd grade words!!!!
    At least they have a web design course…if it ever gets anywhere. 3rd week now and they haven’t gotten anywhere.

  5. […] What can the do already and show you? What skills are they missing? This can be though a series of microblog posts for example – as the teacher begins to reveal the activity though providing readings or given […]

  6. Hey friend,

    Nice, interesting post here. I’d respond that though I haven’t actually used it, Edmodo looks like the ticked for a closed microblogging-in-schools solution. http://www.edmodo.com/ is the site. I’d love to hear from anyone who’s successfully used this!

    Keep up the good work, dude, been too long since we Skyped. I’m busy as can be too, though, so I understand your scarcity…

  7. Merci, je n’y avait même pas pensé. Excellent !

Leave a Reply

